The Family That Sleeps Together…

When my daughter was born, my entire world changed. The biggest difference, which coincidentally is the one that scared me the most, was that my daughter was now exposed to the outside world and all of the dangers that await sweet little babies. I was worried about: not making enough milk and that my child would go to bed hungry; letting other people hold and pass around my child because I didn’t want for her to catch illness (she most definitely inherited my crappy immune system); and the chance that I might wake up one morning to find my daughter dead in her crib.
This last worry had me so terrified that I refused to fall asleep that first night until Handsome Husband agreed to stay up and keep an eye on her to make sure she could breathe. I know, he’s pretty awesome, right? Anyway, things did not work out that way. He stayed up for as long as he could, but then ended up falling asleep holding our baby in his arms. Needless to say, I was not thrilled about the precedent he was setting.
The next few nights did not get any better. I still did not get any sleep, although baby was right next to the bed in a bassinet. I worried that she would find some way to turn her head or roll onto her side that would keep her from breathing. That bassinet was so tiny!
During the middle of the night, we decided to put the baby in between us to get some sleep. She did so well there, sleeping through the night in just a couple of weeks. I was cued in to her needs, such as when she was hungry or just needed to be flipped to the other side. I still woke often to make sure she was breathing and that she wasn’t in any danger, but apparently, the sleep cycles of moms and babies synch up while co-sleeping, so this was nature’s way of protecting my child.
My baby still sleeps in between Handsome Husband and myself, although we plan to introduce a toddler bed soon. We would have tried sooner, but we still don’t think she is quite accustomed to her surroundings in this new house just yet.
Did you know that sharing a room with your child is considered co-sleeping? You don’t have to share your bed with your child to be a co-sleeping family. Many organizations around the world consider co-sleeping to be the best for babies, although in America, cribs in separate rooms are considered the norm.
What do you think about co-sleeping? Is this something that you would consider doing?

About Classic Mommy | Atlanta Mom Blogger

Atlanta Mom Blogger | Enjoys sweet tea and a good challenge | Dislikes dirty fingernails and whining | Mom to Danger | Wife to Dre | Family Travel Blogger
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Family That Sleeps Together…

  1. katiezoe says:

    I love this story about how your Family Bed came to be. I have an almost-5 month old, my first, and I knew from the get-go that we would co-sleep. We have an actual co-sleeper bed that attaches to our bed. So many nights, though the baby ends up sleeping with us in our bed anyway. I remember being SO sure that he had stopped breathing when he was sleeping! I love that your husband offered to stay awake with your daughter. Having the baby in the bed with us helped me to feel his body breathing through the night and also helped the baby sleep longer and deeper. Win-win!
    Some people feel anxious that once you start bed-sharing the baby will never want to leave your bed and then you don’t have that personal space with your husband anymore. I’ve tried to have my son get used to sleeping other places so that when the time comes to release him from the Family Bed Nest he doesn’t feel like he’s being punished. What I mean by other places is that sometimes he will nap in his crib that is set up in his nursery. His nursery is where he has his changing table, we read books and he hangs out in his crib checking out his mobile and Twilight Turtle. I want him to feel safe and comfortable in that room, too.

    • I especially like that you call it the family bed. That is a great way to view it. Even the parents that don’t share the bed with their children know that sometimes, the child will end up in there. We have a staged plan in place for when we start to wean her from our bed, but we just aren’t there yet. We do not want our baby to feel punished, either. Thank you for sharing your family’s story with us 🙂

  2. Laura says:

    We co-sleep, and have done so for most of our daughter’s six months. I wouldn’t have it any other way! I always know when she needs something, nearly before she does herself. I don’t have to get up to get her anything. We all sleep much better than we otherwise would. I love it!

    • Yes! It truly is wonderful all around! I am so glad that you are enjoying this special form of bonding and getting to know your child’s needs. I have discovered that my child does not need to cry and scream to communicate that she needs something. Could that have something to do with co-sleeping? Hmmm…

  3. Rheanna says:

    I’m personally do not co-sleep. I’ve known many that have and many that end of having the time of their life trying to stop and separate from their child. Bonding is wonderful and I understand that part of it, but I”m plenty bonded with my child and I don’t do this. I also believe that it can be un-beneficial to the relationship with your partner. I’m sure it works in some situations I just don’t see that the benefits outweigh the risks. My friend is an EMT and was called to a case where there was an unfortunate situation with co-sleeping and the baby did not make it. My children were in my room in a bassinet type situation for about four months. I personally found that we both slept better when we finally did move them. I wasn’t constantly checking on them and they could get a restful sleep as well.

    -found you via bloggy mom 🙂

    • Thanks for stopping by, Rheanna! Co-sleeping does not work for everyone, and parents just need to do what is best for their children, whether it is co-sleeping or putting baby in another room to sleep. So long as everyone is healthy, happy, and well-rested, anything works! I am sorry to read about your EMT friend. I know that must have been a terrible experience. However, the fact that some babies die from this was not a reason to deter me from trying it out. There are precautions to take that make it a very safe way to sleep. Honestly, I was more afraid of the hundreds of thousands of annual crib deaths than I was co-sleeping! But at the end of the day, we just have to make sure we are doing what works best for our situation. Boggy mom is awesome! 🙂

  4. Pingback: A Bed Fit For A Princess | Classic Mommy

Leave a Reply

