Medicine: A Nursing Mama’s Dilemma

I am very thankful that yesterday was Wordless Wednesday because it gave me a little time to gather my thoughts amidst this sickness. For those of you that do not know, I have a pretty bad bladder infection, and was just able to make it to the doctor yesterday. Let me tell you this: it is NOT easy to care for a toddler when you feel terrible!

The point of me telling you this is to highlight a problem between medical care and breastfeeding mamas. If you’re a nursing mommy, there is very little that can be done to cure your illness quickly or to remove any pain that you experience. For instance, the sweet old lady that cared for me yesterday had to call another doctor to brainstorm a healthy antibiotic that would be effective for knocking out my infection and would also be safe to take while breastfeeding my daughter. After spending almost ten minutes on the phone, she wrote out a prescription, which I then walked dutifully over to the pharmacy. I handed the prescription to the attendant, was told that it would take between five and ten minutes for it to be filled, and then wandered off to buy a few necessities.

After picking up my pills, I made the mistake of waiting until we were in the car, on the road, to check my prescription out. I always read the instructions, warnings, side-effects, etc. before taking any new medicine. Turns out, I should have checked it before I left the store. The pharmacist had switched my prescription to the generic version WITHOUT EVEN ASKING ME! The generic version had a little sticker that read: Warning: Breastfeeding is not recommended while using this drug.

We had to turn the car around and go back to the pharmacy to get it straightened out. I don’t like to be rude to people, but sheesh… I was already a little bit frustrated with the lady for criticizing our parenting, so complaining about getting a medication that I did NOT ask for was a victory of sorts for me.

Anyway, my medication was switched with the generic form without my consent, and the bottle was not child-proof, which I had specifically noted on the prescription drop-off form. Needless to say, I will not go back to that particular pharmacy again.

As for taking medications while breastfeeding, I urge a bit of caution to other mamas. Please please take the time to carefully inspect your medication and the warnings that come printed out with them. If you’re not sure about a medicine, ask another doctor! Pharmacists don’t always give you the medicine that you are prescribed, so make sure that you know the correct name and spelling of the drug that the doctor wishes for you to take. And finally, I have found that by using a heated blanket, I was able to effectively eliminate my kidney ache and general malaise that accompanied the bladder infection.

I’m sure that many of you breastfeeding mamas have encountered pain and illness at some point or another. What other types of home remedies do you use to reduce your discomfort while sick or in pain? Do you have a similar story to share?

About Classic Mommy | Atlanta Mom Blogger

Atlanta Mom Blogger | Enjoys sweet tea and a good challenge | Dislikes dirty fingernails and whining | Mom to Danger | Wife to Dre | Family Travel Blogger
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Medicine: A Nursing Mama’s Dilemma

  1. beliefinus says:

    Oh NO!! Being sick is no fun! Did you get the memo in the delivery room right before giving birth that now that we are moms we are NOT allowed to get sick?? πŸ™‚ haha!!
    I had a very bad kidney and bladder infection at one point too during breast feeding and I drank cran-grape juice and warm baths with my babies helped too. Anti-biotics that went through my breast milk affected him too. He had nasty diapers and was grumpy because his tummy hurt. 😦
    Sending you tons of love and healing vibes
    april

  2. Hi,

    What do you mean the pharmacist criticised your parenting? WTF?! Does everybody really think it is okay to butt in with their biased opinions on childcare?

    On a different note, this may be a stupid question but did you try herbs already? There are some very effective natural treatments for bladder infections and they are more likely to be okay during breastfeeding. That would always be my first port of call – especially while nursing.

    Hope you get well soon
    xx

    • I tend to shy away from herbs because I don’t know anything about them. Some can interact badly with my daughter’s medication, and that worries me. I did try to use some lemon, cranberry juice, cream of tartar, and LOTS of water… but all those things just made me go to the bathroom a lot! If you ever need to urinate a lot, take a tablespoon of cream of tartar and wash it down with water. I don’t know why, but it works!

  3. Eschelle says:

    Wow that would grind my gears if a pharmacy did that to me! Talk about rude!

    http://eschelle-mumfection.blogspot.com/ <— following you on your commenting idea via Bloggy moms. I follow other moms with word press so we should be able to keep in contact rather easily. Look forward to reading your future posts; if you have any you think are especially good feel free to leave their links in your comments on my blog πŸ˜€

  4. Hi, Ahh, I understand. Yes herbs can interact with medicine – herbs are medicine. In fact many pharmacy drugs are based on chemically-synthesised ingredients copied from plants (from the Amazon, for example). So yes they work and yes they can interact with other medicines. Caution makes sense. If you did ever want to explore them, the best is to seek the advice of a professional (just as you wouldn’t take drugs without the prescription of a doctor or on the advice of a pharmacist).

    And actually from a naturopathic point of view, weeing a lot is part of the treatment – inconvenient as that may seem. You are flushing the bacteria infection/inflamation out, in a sense. So drinking lots of water is always the starting point.

    But hey, you do what you got to do to get better. I just think you need to give that pharmacist a swift kick up the a*se!!!

Leave a Reply

