What’s That Smell?

As you remember, Handsome Husband and I had a bit of an accident last week that has left him on crutches (or on the couch!) and me with a super sore back. While taking care of him and my daughter, I must admit that I have forgotten my household duties. Today, I walked into the kitchen for pretty much the first time in a couple days only to find a suspicious and very pungent odor radiating from the depths of my antique sink. Say it with me now: Ewwwww!

I immediately loaded the dishwasher (apparently we have not one, but TWO loads of dishes to run – oops!) and when I reached the bottom of the sink, I found a surprise. I am not sure if you’ve ever smelled old beans or not, but it’s at the top of my “do not ever smell again” list. In fact, I might just have to ban beans from my household altogether!

Anywho, I scraped the rancid bean curd off the bottom of my sink, and will be disinfecting my entire kitchen just to get that smell out of my house. I’d leave the door open, but there’s some kind of critter (chipmunk?) family that has burrowed underneath my porch step. The last thing I need is another mouth to feed 😦

I still have a bit of a problem, though. I am so stinking sore, husband is crippled, and we haven’t quite trained little Danger to clean the house yet (although Handsome Husband did teach her to fetch a bottle of water today.) How do we keep the house from getting so gross when we can barely care for ourselves? Do you have any tips to share? I’d love to read them. Any little bit helps, right?

About Classic Mommy | Atlanta Mom Blogger

Atlanta Mom Blogger | Enjoys sweet tea and a good challenge | Dislikes dirty fingernails and whining | Mom to Danger | Wife to Dre | Family Travel Blogger
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What’s That Smell?

  1. Eschelle says:

    pine sol… highly suggest it for smells that linger forever.. like vomit. lol

  2. Melissa says:

    It looks like you guys need to order out and use paper plates – no dishes πŸ™‚

  3. get a cleaner. Does that sound debaucherous? Yeah, it probably is. I don’t have one myself but I day dream about it all the time. I used to think that was only for rich unethical people who didn’t mind using other human beings to do their dirty jobs (literally). Now I think hey, if it helps you get by and helps your family stay happy while helping another family make a living, that is a good thing. I know none of us are rich and your strapline says you are feeling particularly conscious of this, but I don’t know some friends of mine have somebody to help for say 2 hours every two weeks and I tell you there house looks a heck of a lot better than mine – lol.

    • I would absolutely LOVE to get a cleaner, but sadly, that is not in the budget for now. I actually did a lot of cleaning, organizing, and scrubbing yesterday (now that I am finally well) and I have to admit that it felt great to be the one that made the house look so wonderful. lol My husband sure was happy to come home from work πŸ™‚

  4. Ahh, I agree. It feels great when it is done, doesn’t it? Well done, you. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

