Shopping With Toddler

This little angel went shopping…

I don’t have the pleasure of seeing this angelic face in public very often. It seems that the past few weeks have been extremely stressful when it comes to getting our little one out of the house. She wants to walk – or run – in the stores rather than ride in the shopping cart. She wants to play with anything that even resembles a toy, and if we don’t allow her to play, she works herself up into a frenzy. We can only go to restaurants that have booths because Danger refuses to sit in a highchair or booster seat. She likes to hold cups while she drinks from them, so there’s usually a huge puddle on or under our table by the end of the meal.

Do you have similar issues with your child? What works for you? I’d hate to have to take turns leaving the house with my husband, but we just really don’t want to take her out in public these days!

About Classic Mommy | Atlanta Mom Blogger

Atlanta Mom Blogger | Enjoys sweet tea and a good challenge | Dislikes dirty fingernails and whining | Mom to Danger | Wife to Dre | Family Travel Blogger
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Shopping With Toddler

  1. Eschelle says:

    I love those stores that offer shopping carts with car fronts so the kids can sit in them and pretend their driving. Or those little mini shopping carts i love those too!

  2. Linda R. says:

    OMG! I thought I was the only one going through this I’m glad to hear I’m not alone lol. My princess is 1 year and 9 months today so she’s at the point where she wants to do everything by herself. She wants to run around the stores which then in turns has me running around the stores and believe me I really don’t like this. I sometimes dread having to take her out and I know that sounds bad, but by the time I’m at the store 15 minutes I want to leave because she doesn’t want to stay in the shopping cart & then she starts crying and then I feel like crying. Just recently I noticed that if I take her some snacks or a toy that seems to calm her down just a bit at the store. If I’m at a restaurant I carry a travel activity wallet for her to either color or use the chalkboard this keeps her entertain until the food gets there. Also, I try not to spend a long time at the store, I noticed the longer I stay the fuzzier she gets. If I think I’m going to spend a while I leave her at home with my mom.

    • Great ideas! I have not even considered offering a snack to my little one in the stores, but I imagine that would keep her entertained for at least a little while 🙂 Thanks so much for sharing what you do, Linda!

Leave a Reply

