Raising Men: 2

Back in August, I posed the question: Where have all the young men gone?

It seems that many others are asking the same question, most recently in the Wall Street Journal article ‘Where Have The Good Men Gone?

As the parent of a little girl, I am very concerned about her future. I want for her to grow to be independent, financially stable, and emotionally able to handle whatever bad things life throws her way. I also want for her to have a nice house, a husband, and children of her own. Out of all of the variables, marriage and a family of her own are the most certain. After all, the human race must march on.

When I consider the qualities that my husband possesses – the ones that attracted me to him in the first place – it comes as no surprise that I subscribe to the old-school notion of husband-as-head-of-house. He is a hard-worker, CFO of our household, the decision-maker… and he cooks. While I do manage to persuade him from time to time on big decisions, there is one thing that I never have to force: his inherent masculinity. In short, I married a real man.

One of the definitions of “man” describes him to be an adult, male person that has masculine qualities (i.e. strength or boldness). When you look at the next generation of boys, do you see these qualities often? I don’t.

While many women welcome the idea of sensitive men or flock to “guys” that remain in an extended period of adolescence, I’m worried about my future son-in-law and the father of my grandchildren and his ability to provide not only a financially successful home, but also the strength, boldness, and maturity to protect and positively influence my daughter and her children.

I doubt that a “man” in skinny jeans and guyliner has the chutzpah to provide adequate security, in all its many forms. But then again, I’ve never been a fan of hipsters.

What do you think of the Wall Street Journal article? Have you ever dated one of those “men”? Do you have any advice for the parents of boys? Please feel welcome to discuss!

About Classic Mommy | Atlanta Mom Blogger

Atlanta Mom Blogger | Enjoys sweet tea and a good challenge | Dislikes dirty fingernails and whining | Mom to Danger | Wife to Dre | Family Travel Blogger
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

