Let’s Wave Goodbye To Nausea

Many women experience nausea at some point of their lives: pregnancy, PMS, bad ethnic food, car sickness… the list goes on. While motherhood is an amazing experience, it also comes with its challenges – one of which is how to deal with the body’s hormonal changes in a way that is suitable to pregnancy or nursing.

Nausea is my absolute least favorite thing, and I was unfortunate enough to suffer through hyperemesis gravidarum during my pregnancy. I was so sick for most of my pregnancy that I had to take prescription medication just to be able to drink a sip of water. I often wonder if that medication was responsible for my daughter’s hypothyroidism, but then I remind myself that if I did not have food or water in my body, she would not even be alive today.

Some things did seem to alleviate a little bit of the nausea:

Other things did not seem to help one little bit:

  • Ginger tea
  • Milk (whomever told me that milk was good for nausea deserves a good ol’ kick in the buttocks!!!)
  • Wrist bands
  • Water with lemon

As I am still breastfeeding my daughter, I have to be very mindful of the things that I ingest. I still try some of the above, but now I also take Emetrol or digestive enzymes when I need to. Emetrol is an OTC cherry-flavored liquid medication that relieves nausea fairly quickly. The drawback to this syrup is that one cannot eat or drink for at least fifteen minutes after taking it. The digestive enzymes that I use are from Whole Foods, are relatively inexpensive, and provide a more natural fix. The pills work wonders for indigestion and heartburn, and aren’t too big to swallow comfortably.

What remedies do you use for nausea? Have you tried any traditional, non-medicated ways to alleviate the discomfort of nausea? Please feel free to share!

About Classic Mommy | Atlanta Mom Blogger

Atlanta Mom Blogger | Enjoys sweet tea and a good challenge | Dislikes dirty fingernails and whining | Mom to Danger | Wife to Dre | Family Travel Blogger
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Let’s Wave Goodbye To Nausea

  1. Mama Bug says:

    Oyster crackers! They work wonders for me!

  2. You know, I’ve heard someone else mention those before. I’ll have to keep a box around for next time. Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

