One Step At A Time | Mommy & Me Monday


It always starts off with a step.

Sometimes it’s a large step. Others, a series of small steps that make a big difference. My little Danger is growing and changing at such a fast pace these days, that hindsight is something that I am prone to dwell on.

Some days are better than others. In those days, I am consumed by the need to interact fully with my little one while she is still “little.” We spend the day laughing, playing, and learning.

Other days – the ones that are not so perfect – are spent doing the work of life. Living out a routine. Scrubbing dishes, straightening shelves, closely monitoring e-mail addresses, and meeting deadlines… while my little one occupies herself with toys, crayons, and workbooks. Distractions.

Being a full-time mom is an extremely difficult position. It’s not easy to be with your child and be present. To live in the moment, to entertain, and to still get things done, all while being super mom (whatever that means).

As rewarding and wonderful as it can be, there are also times that mom can feel overwhelmed, overworked, and guilty. Guilty of not getting enough housework done. Guilty of not spending enough time with the children. Guilty of not setting the proper priorities. Guilty of not being perfect.

Watching my daughter learn to take a series of small steps and turn them into a big milestone inspires me to do the same in my life. Maybe it’s not actually possible to be a true full-time mom. Maybe I’m setting myself up for failure. But there’s just got to be a middle ground somewhere. Making small changes in our daily routine might be the key.

The picture at the top was taken during a recent hike at Amicalola Falls. We weren’t planning on doing a big hike this time around, as we had just spent the day at the pumpkin patch down the street, but Danger had it in her mind that she wanted to get her little legs moving all the way to the end of the trail. Her dedication, her persistence, and her spirit encourages me every single day. I am so blessed to be her mommy.

Today, I’m linking up here:

Mommy and Me Monday at Really, Are You Serious?

Hosted by Krystyn at Really, Are You Serious? Join us! 🙂

What has your little one inspired you to do lately?

About Classic Mommy | Atlanta Mom Blogger

Atlanta Mom Blogger | Enjoys sweet tea and a good challenge | Dislikes dirty fingernails and whining | Mom to Danger | Wife to Dre | Family Travel Blogger
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to One Step At A Time | Mommy & Me Monday

  1. I use to feel guilty about a lot of things but I have learned that although I am not perfect I do the best I can and I hope for another day to make it up. As long as the kids go to bed happy and healthy that’s all I ask for. Great post

  2. Krystyn @ Really, Are You Serious? says:

    Isn’t it awesome when they push themselves (really us) to do things that we weren’t ready for them to do and they totally rock it?

Leave a Reply

