Things I Will NEVER Blog About

I think that part of what makes the blogging genre so interesting is that there are so many different levels of comfort. While bloggers do participate in a similar form of communication, we blog for different reasons and about different topics. Even the “mommy” bloggers. Perhaps especially the “mommy” bloggers.

For instance, I’ve read many posts recently about personal family topics that I would not feel comfortable sharing. While I do think that the information should be available for those of us that need advice in that particular area, it’s just not my cup of tea. And that’s alright. We shouldn’t all be the same.

Here are a few of the things that I will never ever blog about:

  • If my child starts wetting the bed when she’s older.
  • My daughter’s first period. Or any of her periods. Period.
  • My child’s romantic relationships, break-ups, or sexuality.
  • Fights with my husband.
  • Politics. No need to polarize my blog readers.

A few thoughts on the above list:

This is my blog, my space, and while I use it to document the story of Team Bradshaw, I do not believe that this story is only mine to share.

I will not sacrifice my daughter’s trust and respect in order to participate in a blogger outreach program that might compromise those things one day. Same goes for my husband and our arguments (or lack thereof ;))

As far as the political world goes, I do believe that we all have a right to an opinion (hopefully an educated one!) but that doesn’t necessarily mean that we have to put a voice behind it on our otherwise non-political blogs. People don’t follow my mommy blog because they want to hear more political propaganda.

One of the reasons that I switched my personal blog to the Classic Mommy site is because I want to form a community. I desire interaction, support, and kindred spirits to share in the joys and sadnesses that life throws my way. Sharing my support for so-and-so would only serve to drive away people that I wish to interact with, so I’m just not going there.

Do you agree? What’s on your list of taboo topics? 

About Classic Mommy | Atlanta Mom Blogger

Atlanta Mom Blogger | Enjoys sweet tea and a good challenge | Dislikes dirty fingernails and whining | Mom to Danger | Wife to Dre | Family Travel Blogger
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Things I Will NEVER Blog About

  1. This blog world has changed since the election I will tell you that. I had to speak on it just one time but I probably never will again I try to leave politics and religion off my blog

  2. I completely feel the same. I have a public blog and I love sharing with my readers, yet I believe some subjects do not need to be shared.

  3. My kids are grown and no longer live with me but no matter; they will never be the topic of my blog conversations in any way that could embarrass them. I thanked my daughter for helping me with a post today but would NEVER discuss her personal life or our sometimes fractious relationship.

    If you’re talking about that effort involving Kotex, I was shocked. Hell, I still don’t like them having commercials…some things seriously are PRIVATE.

    I am a food blogger and my forays into real life mostly relate to how people in the food blogging arena treat each other (yes, often that high school mean girl/popular mentality) but I’m blogging to share what I love for the most part which is making food and cocktails for friends and family. I know I’m highly opinionated…just not on the blog. Unless it’s about a fabulous cocktail.

    • Haha I wasn’t specifically referring to the Kotex initiative, but I suppose that would be a great example. I’m glad people participate in that kind of thing because people like me might need to read those posts one day… but it’s just not something I would personally take part in 😉
      I’m glad to see that I’m not the only one. I was really starting to wonder. You can’t really put a price on your relationship with your children, you know?
      I had no idea that the food blogging genre was composed of mean girls. I just assumed that you ladies were all happy superwomen or something. A special little club that people like me look up to. I’ll make sure to stop by your site to find some good recipes to try for the upcoming holidays!

  4. Pretty much my list, too…I have talked about the bed wetting..but not mentioning any names, and more just solutions that work for right now (and at only 3, that’s okay, right)? But all of the other things, yep, my list, too.

Leave a Reply

